MY FAVORITE SONGS FROM THE FIRST HALF OF 2012

40. G.NA – 2HOT

If I did not love G.na last year with “Top Girl”, I am loving her even less this year with “2HOT”. I wish I could see more of the Black&White girl I like. All and all, the song is good for her, It allows G.na to perform nicely and to try another kind of sound. Experimenting is good for growing so this was a nice try (but It could have been better). She is in this list because I love her, and I like the MV.

 39. BUSKER BUSKER – CHERRY BLOSSOM ENDING

This guys were my biggest surprise this year. I can´t get enough of this amazing song.

38. HONEY HONEY – GANGKIZ

Baby honey honey honey baby come to me CLAP! I am sad their debut was so little notorious. This song is good and actually gives you a vibe of what Gangkiz is all about.

37. MAMA – EXO K

The most anticipated debut of the first half of the year. Finally SME new boy band got into the spotlight, I don´t love  them yet, but I might be getting there.  “Mama” didn’t do it for me, maybe the next song will.

36. FACE – NU’EST

This song makes me believe I am in a club downtown Berlín hahaha. It sounds so much like an european dance track is ridiculous. A nice debut song for the boy band once known as pledis boys.

35. DORADORA – U-KISS

I dig those body waves so much!!!! I am sad they could not get any award this time, but I still believe their time will come.

34. ROUND AND ROUND – T-ARA

Out of nowhere comes T-ara with this remake and I can not do anything but love it. So catchy and in sync with T-ara vocals.

33. MONSTER – BIGBANG

The only reason why “Monster” isn’t better rank here is because they didn’t promote it.  I wish I could se them singing this great song live, I love when they pull off dramatic stages, this was perfect for it.

32. STILL IN LOVE  – CNBLUE

I don’t  care that all of CN BLUE songs seem like they sound the same, each one of them have an special charm. “Still in love” is no the exception, is lovely and pure CN BLUE.

31. LIKE THIS – WONDER GIRLS

Like this yooooo like this #lalala Like the great philosopher Rebecca Black said FUN FUN FUN!… This is one if the most refreshing sounds of this year, no doubt. The Wonder Girls never disappoint.

30. VENUS – SHINHWA

You’re my love love love love …. Is so great to have Shinhwa back in action, It gives hope to others boy bands that one day they will be able to reunite and be popular all over again. “Venus” is a good song to show they are not living in the past, they re embracing new sounds, lets see what comes next.

29. RUSSIAN ROULETTE – SPICA

tururu tururu tururu …Bang Bang Bang Bang ... I love this song! Awesome debut song for the talented Spica.

28. FLASHBACK- AFTER SCHOOL

Sexy is back with After School of course. Is not their best release, but I like it, I was afraid the absence of Kahi would harm them but I couldn’t be more wrong. They are still the charismatic AS I know.

27. HISTORY – EXO K

I love the choreo of this song, is amazing and flawless.

26. TICKTET – NINE MUSES

They deserved more recognition for this effort, Its a catchy song with a good MV. The always beautiful Nine Muses did a great job.

25. WARRIOR – B.A.P.

Most  powerful debut song ever. It hooked me from the start, “Warrior” is strong, memorable and the live performances just added more fuel to the fire.

24. THIS IS WAR – MBLAQ

Now tell me, what girl wouldn’t like having this 2 fine guys fighting over her? Declaring war to each other while dancing and singing in those outfits? haha ok scratch that last part. This song is great, the lyrics are great, the performances were over the top, a perfect comeback for Mblaq.

 23. WHAT IS LOVE – EXO K

Oh baby, don’t hurt me, don’t hurt me no more… #OKNOT … I could not stop playing that in my head everytime I heard the tittle of this song hahaha. This song brings me back to the golden TVXQ days, is a beautiful soft sound, made to show off the vocal skills of its interpreters, my favorite EXO song.

22. CRAZY – TEEN TOP

This guys demanded my attention back with this song. And apparently it wasn’t the only me, because they won their first music trophy with It.

21. SEVERELY – FT ISLAND

I love Hongki voice with all my heart. This song is everything I like about my guys, and the live performances were just amazing. I cant have enough of that chorus!

20. TOUCH – MISS A

You touch my heart baby touch touch! I love, no no I ADORE the choreo of this song! Is freaking amazing! I am a sucker for Miss A, they always comeback with something refreshing and new,  re inventing their selfs. ❤

19. THE GRASSHOPPER SONG – SUNNY HILL

Sunny Hill protest songs don’t get old. I like how they can take a boring subject and make it fun and musical O.o

18. JAYWALKING – SUNG JOON

I can hear “Jaywalking” all day long, It was the perfect song for my Eye Candy boys from “Shut up! Flower Boy Band”. Is just….I mean…I have no words for how much I love this song! IS GREAT!!!!

17. TO YOU – TEEN TOP

I think I just felt in love with Niel, he has never looked so damn hot before. Or maybe is the insane choreo that allows him to shine?  All of them shine to be honest, too bad the competition was tough, they deserve at least one win with “To You”, is an impressive song.

16. VENUS – HELLO VENUS

V-I-C-T-O-R-Y- GIRLS lalalalalalala. Pretty girls + catchy song + colorful MV = old formula… but it worked like new for this girls! … not bad Hello Venus!  My favorite debut song of the first half of the year.

15. IS BEING PRETTY EVERYTHING – FAT CAT

This girl is so cute, I feel like pinch her cheeks every time I see her. How can she sing about being ugly? makes no sense! hahaha Well in the K-POP world, what does make sense? IBPE is a good song, with good lyrics and a wonderful MV. Is actually an astounding release for such an unknown artist, I hope to hear a lot more from her.

14. VOLUME UP – 4MINUTE

And suddenly I am in a Miami Vice rerun, hahaha. “Volume Up”  is a different and addictive and I love it. It was an amazing comeback for 4minute, the whole mini album was good. Too bad the competition was hard, they could have win more trophies in other conditions.

13. ONLY TEARS – INFINITE

I swear I almost cry emotional tears when I saw my baby boys perform this song.  Is the most beautiful ballad of this first half of the year, so heartfelt and sad. I am missing you too guys!!!!!

12. NALINA – BLOCK B

What a comeback! Block B dish aside their rookie status by making an epic statement…WE ARE HERE TO MAKE AN UPROAR..and it worked…for good or for bad you lovely troll idols!!!. Is sad they didn’t get to enjoy the merits of this effort because of the incident in Thailand. I would love to watch them on stage singing it again, goofing around and having fun!

11. LOVEY DOVEY –  T-ARA

This song  and T-ara were meant to be, their voices match it so well and their effortless dance steps go with it. I enjoyed all the live stages, it is always fun to watch them perform this kind of track. I ❤ Lovey Dovey,  is an interesting song, I want to love too!!!

10. ALONE – SISTAR

So bad Sistar did not get to win their well deserve triple crown over TTS and Infinite, nonetheless “Alone” sets the record straight about them, as one of the most promising  idols out there…finally. It was so unfair having the best female vocalist and still be underrated, well that changed with this comeback. The song is unexpectedly nostalgic and heartfelt, and the sexy leg dance complete the package. Not to forget that now the whole quartet gets the spotlight!

9. ELECTRIC SHOCK – F(X)

My girls are back! I couldn’t be happier… well maybe I could be if SME would make better efforts to let them grow artistically. “Electric Shock” has everything f(x) dominates, synthetic sounds, catchy chorus and a clean choreo. But I wanted more this time, I hope next time they´ll show a new side, to let us know they are getting better. All and all, I love this release, because is more of the f(x) I love.

8. LEAD ME – SISTAR

Baby come and lead me… I love romantic Sistar, “Lead me” is like an old song I forgot I liked. I enjoyed every live stage, they performed it gracefully.

7. THE CHASER – INFINITE

Somehow “The Chaser” feels nostalgic to me. Like a remake or something like that. Infinite really captured the retro concept and made a great song out of it. The owned the music charts like a boss, and I expected no less from them, Infinite is skyrocketing to the top and they boys deserved it.  All the hard work is paying off! I can’t wait for their next comeback! Sunggyu feel free to chase me every time.

6. TWINKLE – TAETISEO

I did not see this coming.The first SNDS sub unit took all the music charts by storm, sweeping all the awards,  this only proves the “power of nine” or three¿?. “Twinkle” is everything I love about girls groups, is flirty, catchy, fun and with a colorful MV fill with cool outfits.  I was pleasantly surprised, it sounds like a K-pop version of Lady Marmalade,  I completely like it! The powerful voices of Taeyeon, Tiffany, and Seohyun sound amazing and so in sync with the lyrics and the whole vibe of the song.

5. TARANTALLEGRA – XIAH JUNSU

I will kill the person who did not let Junsu perform “Tarantallegra” live!!!! KILL YOU!!! YOU ARE WARNED!…. I might end up killing Lee So Man I know =(. It is so frustrating JYJ doesn’t get to promote their wonderful songs. Junsu did a great job with this album, is perfect! And the tittle song fits him like a glove, he dances every beat so beautifully and his vocals are as flawless as him. I really feel charmed to dance every time I hear his song, a real spell.

4. BAD BOY – BIGBANG

YG really know how to treat BIGBANG, their musical growth is evident in every comeback. “Bad Boy” is outstanding from any point of view.

3. SHERLOCK – SHINEE

I´m so curious yeah!  Best dance performance of this year, so far. Is insane how coordinated my babies are, I enjoyed every single stage, the 5 of them are getting so handsome and Taemin shines so beautifully!

2. BLUE – BIGBANG

Great song is great. “Blue” fills my artistic growth expectations from BIGBANG. Seriously, the song is doomed to greatness, is soft and powerful at the same time.

1. FANTASTIC BABY – BIGBANG

This is probably going to be the best song of the year, to think that we will have a better release is to ask for a lot. “Fantastic Baby” has it all, the most amazing catchy line BOOM SHAKALAKA, the greatest performers, the round lyrics that go the the feeling of the song, the fun choreography and the PERFECT MUSIC VIDEO. Not to forget every single stage was breath taking! Indubitable the best song/MV/Album of this first half of the year.

PLS READ: This is MY CHART…You might have another order…this is mine! I know some groups have achieved more than others, but I am only taking into consideration what I like. If you live any other singer/group that is not on this list, feel free t introduce me to them. :D

4 comments on “MY FAVORITE SONGS FROM THE FIRST HALF OF 2012

  1. You have a lot of Big Bang that impressed you earlier this year don’t you?

    I can understand why Fantastic Baby would be your first because even people now are addicted to the song and it’s become one of those songs to remember in 2012. Would prefer old-school Big Bang though.

    Tarantellagra, Like This, To You, Volume Up, Lovey Dovy and History would be higher in my list.

    • I am not even a full time VIP, I am a Cassie <3!!!!

      I like the whole album, they took care of all the songs, not only the tittle song, I think more idols should follow that lead, I am tired of great tittle songs in mediocre albums. I like Big Bang old school too, my fav will always be Haru Haru, but I appreciate the musical growth, they always try to step aside their confort zone, dont you think more K-pop acts should do the same?

      The songs you mention are great to, its difficult to list them, so I just take in consideration what I like and the numer of plays in my itunes.

      Thanks for stoping by and commenting!

      😀

      PAM

Leave a Reply

